Didn’t Know if I Should Cry or Laugh

I’ve written in the past about how laughter helps us get through some tough times. Today, I didn’t know if I should cry or laugh. I choose to laugh. But trust me, there really was nothing to laugh about. But I tried to find the smallest thing to latch on to to help me through the shock.

Let me explain.

Long story short, I had a house I flipped and carried the loan. It was an “as is” home that I bought dirt cheap and could make a small amount on. Mid summer the person stopped paying so I had to foreclose on the house and take it back.

Today, was my first time being able to head to the house and assess the damage so I could put it back on the market again. The windows were boarded up and you could see there must have been a fire from the burn on the some of the rafters. However, from walking around the house, the walls and the roof seemed to be fine from what we could see. So we scratched our head and began to take the plywood off the door. Imagine my surprise to discover, the pictures you are seeing.

OMG were the only words that could come out my mouth. The outside that looked pretty decent, was masking a home that was burnt to a crisp on the inside. Yes, that is the roof missing. The only part of the roof we couldn’t see from the outside. If I wasn’t sure I walked in to the same house you never could convince me.

All I could think was, OMG. What on earth am I going to do? Walking room to room and realizing nothing is salvageable.

This is the point where my handyman and I just started to laugh. I’m sure you are like “huhhhhh???”  Nothing funny here.

You see, this house has a history with him and I. Four years ago I got it dirt cheap. The family that lived in it lost it in foreclosure themselves. They then let the kids run wild and tag the whole house. Graffiti everywhere, ripped out the cabinets, bash the lights so glass everywhere, you name it. So it went to the top 3 of trashed houses that day. Actually our #2. (One day I’ll tell you about our #1 which is now the new #2 as this fire became the new #1 – follow all that?)

Anyways, we just started talking about what we have been through with this house and how it is the gift that keeps on giving. To be honest, the only thing that would have topped this house from the first go around, would have been a fire.

I’m still not sure what I’m going to do, as I have several options that I will not bore you with, but the point was I could have taken this situation one of several ways. I could have easily cried, it was so sad. The feeling of what am I going to do is very overwhelming as you all know. But that feeling will not help me solve the situation. But by laughing, it put me in a better frame of mind to go with the rest of the day.

So, just remember, when faced with do you cry or laugh, laughing can help you through. And if you are a crier, that’s fine, but just know that just because some of us laugh, it doesn’t mean we aren’t feeling the same pain. We all handle it in our own way.

 

~~~till we laugh again~~~~

 

Categories: 365 Days of Laughter, Life, Why do people??? | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Didn’t Know if I Should Cry or Laugh

  1. You have a very good attitude about life and its ups and downs. Good for you!!

  2. That house is like my daughters car, its the gift that keeps giving I keep telling her one more thing an ill pay the airforce to fire it up lol. When I had to ship it to az. Last week I prayed it would fall of the car hauler, when they dropped it I couldnt stop laughing salt damage, rust, but its her soul! 24 with out a clue.

    • Kind of like the person who wears their old tattered 10 year old underwear. Lol. Ugly to look at but u know what u got. Lollll

  3. wow! I’m a laugher too. laugh when i’m nervous or upset. some people look at you strange – even get mad. but it’s worth it. nothing like a good laugh – especially in tough times!

Talk to me...Share your Thoughts....People love to laugh at other people....Don't be shy..... Share your funny...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Here's to Making it Happen

A 20-something's weight loss blog

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Phoenix Local Music

Arizona Real Estate Agent bringing together the local music scene!

KR Elite Realty & Property Management

Northern Utah Real Estate and Property Management Experts!

Searching For The Happiness

The search for what makes us happy

THE IDIOT SPEAKETH

Body nearing 50.......Brain nearing Kindergarten......

Concept of Man

A concept artist who can help you bring your vision alive!

silentlyheardonce

Just another WordPress.com site

anelephantcant

Random thoughts and images, some serious, some humorous, some pointless

behindthemaskofabuse

Abuse,narcissism,survival,there is hope,poetry,art,photography

TnT Artbox Studios

My Art, My World

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Looking For My Marbles

Life is more fun with a few loose screws.

Xenophonia

Word salad dressing

Diary of a Literary Goddess

... ROFL I can't say that with a straight face

Mike Lyles' Blog

International Speaker, Leader, Writer, Tester -- with a passion to change the lives of others!

Cruella de Kill

Unicorns, creepy vans, and all of the weird aspects of life. Right here.

24/7 Wall St.

Insightful Analysis and Commentary for U.S. and Global Equity Investors

Humorous Dispassionate

Proverbs, Jokes, Humor, Sayings, Quotes

Witty Weirdo

Amateur writer with little acquaintance to stupidity and enjoy chatting with other Witty Weirdos

Ripley Connor

Part alien. Part human. Part terminator....... All mixed up.

Fabulously Awkward Girl

Living the clumsy, white girl dream

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 754 other followers

